In Through the Mouth, Out Through the Pen?

While waiting for work to officially begin, I did my daily dose of surfing the net for something interesting. If there’s anything work has taught me during its downtime (which is usually the first two to three hours of my work hours), it’s that websites don’t actually get updated as frequently as I had hoped or thought. No new fashion or beauty trends on Style.com since I last checked the day before. Nothing noteworthy on JustJared, and Tumblr, in all its GIF and hi-res photo goodness, was too tedious to load on my work computer (a black PC running on Windows XP – quite frustrating, as I haven’t used Windows this thoroughly since I went Mac in 2006).

Yesterday, I decided to visit NYTimes. I quickly – very quickly – went through the news. Generally, Obama isn’t doing so well, I thought to myself. And then I moved on. Art and Culture. Books. I scanned through the Best Sellers – no surprise that “The Help” was No.1, with Emma Stone battling it out with Mila Kunis to be on top these days. “Game of Thrones” was somewhere on the list, also no surprise, although I’ve never tried watching it (if I’m missing out, please let me know, I may just look into it).

And then I saw this interesting illustration on one of the sidebars/menus:

I've never thought of what writers, whose words I eat up, ate on a regular basis. Was it a factor in their greatness?

I glanced at my floral lunch (or, because of my work hours, dinner) bag, and decided to take a peek inside. Sushi and chicken teppan from Red Kimono (a poor substitute for Omakase, honestly, but they had temporarily  closed the Omakase branch near our house for renovations). If someday people would ever be interested in what I ate to stay inspired and motivated to write and fulfill my dreams, I wouldn’t want it to be sushi. Chopsticks aren’t the best utensils to have when you want to multitask effectively – although that WOULD be unique and interesting.

I took a sip from my Starbucks tumbler that contained Twinings Earl Grey with some creamer. Yes, I believe I wouldn’t mind if Earl Grey tea were to ever be associated with me – but it kind of downplays my love for cafes and coffee and caffeine, I think. Might mislead people to think I could never handle a nice, big cup of cappuccino the way the French and Italians serve it.

I thought of all my favorite kinds of food (which ultimately means the food I tend to crave for when it’s that time of the month, and my stomach reveals it is bottomless): dimsum? Pasta? Risotto? Paella? Noodles? Cheesecake? Chicharon? Sisig? Grilled prawns? Crab? Gelato? Melon? Strawberries? Rasberries? Bananas? Peanut butter? Jelly? Peanut butter AND jelly? The list went on.

And then my stomach growled (much like it is now), and I realized I wasn’t really musing about the food I would someday be associated with. I was musing on what I wanted to eat at that very moment, because yes, it IS that time of the month. (As I am writing this, I find that I am still craving for everything I’ve mentioned above – and more.) I don’t think I’m quite ready for the permanence of just a single snack anyway – I’m sure there’s a whole lot more food to crave for that I just haven’t tried yet. YET.

1 comment

Leave a comment